EMS Secretaries

Edinburgh Mathematical Society - Honorary Secretaries

The Edinburgh Mathematical Society was founded in 1883. The first officers were elected at the first meeting of the Society which took place at 8 p.m. on Friday 2 February 1883 in the Mathematics Classroom of Edinburgh University. The first secretary served for less than a year, with the second secretary elected to serve from the beginning of academic year 1883-84. The Society had one secretary from its foundation in 1883 until 1971 when J D P Meldrum became a second secretary and J L Mott, who had been appointed in 1960, continued as secretary. From that time on the Society has had two honorary secretaries.

1883 C G Knott
1883-1888 A Y Fraser
1888-1891 J Alison
1891-1896 J B Clark
1896-1899 J W Butters
1899-1904 D C McIntosh
1904-1908 P Pinkerton
1908-1911 A G Burgess
1911-1916 P Comrie
1916-1921 P Ramsay
1921-1924 B B Baker
1924-1930 E T Copson
1930-1933 H S Ruse
1933-1938 I M H Etherington
1938-1939 J B Marshall
1939-1944 I M H Etherington
1944-1947 J B Marshall
1947-1953 R Smart
1953-1960 J Fulton
1960-1974 J L Mott
1971-1980 J D P Meldrum
1974-1983 T A Gillespie
1980-1993 J Martin
1983-1992 C J Shaddock
1992-2003 P Heywood
1993-2000 C J Smyth
2000-2009 A D Gilbert
2003- T H Lenagan
2009-2011 A M Davie
2011- A Smoktunowicz

MacTutor links:

History of the EMS
Presidents of the EMS
Treasurers of the EMS
Secretaries of the EMS

EMS Prizes etc:

EMS Whittaker Prize
EMS Honorary Members
EMS Founder Members

Other Web site:

EMS Web site

Index of Societies, honours, etc.
Welcome page Biographies Index
History Topics Index Famous curves index
Chronology Time lines
Mathematicians of the day Anniversaries for the year
Search Form Birthplace Maps

JOC/EFR March 2015

The URL of this page is: