EMS Treasurers

Edinburgh Mathematical Society - Honorary Treasurers

The Edinburgh Mathematical Society was founded in 1883. The first officers were elected at the first meeting of the Society which took place at 8 p.m. on Friday 2 February 1883 in the Mathematics Classroom of Edinburgh University. The first treasurer served for less than a year, with the second treasurer elected to serve from the beginning of academic year 1883-84.

1883 C G Knott
1883-1885 A Y Fraser
1885-1888 J Alison
1888-1895 J Wilson
1895-1898 D Tweedie
1898-1899 F Spence
1899-1905 J Archibald
1905-1909 J Turner
1909-1915 A D Russell
1915-1927 E M Horsburgh
1927-1950 J B Lockhart
1950-1953 L M Brown
1953-1955 J B Marshall Jr
1955-1963 W M Morrison
1963-1972 G MacKenzie
1972-1976 G F Roach
1976-1988 A C McBride
1988-1997 A D Sands
1997-2004 N K Dickson
2004-2009 M A Youngson
2009- R J Steiner

MacTutor links:

History of the EMS
Presidents of the EMS
Treasurers of the EMS
Secretaries of the EMS

EMS Prizes etc:

EMS Whittaker Prize
EMS Honorary Members
EMS Founder Members

Other Web site:

EMS Web site

Index of Societies, honours, etc.
Welcome page Biographies Index
History Topics Index Famous curves index
Chronology Time lines
Mathematicians of the day Anniversaries for the year
Search Form Birthplace Maps

JOC/EFR March 2015

The URL of this page is: