Fermat Prize

Fermat Prize of the Université Paul Sabatier

The Fermat Prize is awarded to a mathematician for decisive research in those fields to which Pierre de Fermat contributed, namely: Statements of Variational Principles; Foundations of Probability and Analytical Geometry; and Number Theory. The main aim is to reward those whose researches are accessible to the greatest number of professional mathematicians within these fields.

1989 A Bahri

... for the introduction of new methods in the Calculation of Variations.

1989 K A Ribet

... for his contribution to Number Theory and Fermat's last Theorem.

1991 J-L Colliot-Thélène

... for his work on Number Theory and rational manifolds the research for which was undertaken to a large extent with J-J Sansuc.

1993 J-M Coron

... for his contributions to the study of Variational Problems and Control Theory.

1995 A J Wiles

... for his works on Shimura-Taniyama-Weil's conjecture which resulted in the demonstration of Fermat's Last Theorem.

1997 M Talagrand

... for his fundamental contributions in various domains of Probability.

1999 F Bethuel and F Helein

... for several important contributions to the theory of variational calculus, which have consequences in Physics and Geometry.

2001 R L Taylor

... for his various contributions to the study of links between Galois representations and automorphic forms.

2001 W Werner

... for his works on the intersection exponents of Brownian motion and their impact in theoretical Physics.

2003 L Ambrosio

... for his impressive contributions to the Calculus of Variations and Geometric Measure Theory, and their link with partial differential equations.

2005 P Colmez

... for his contributions to the study of L functions and p-adic Galois representations.

2005 J-F Le Gall

... for his contributions to the fine analysis of planar Brownian motions, his invention of the Brownian snake and its applications to the study of non-linear partial differential equations.

2007 C Khare

... for his proof, in collaboration with Jean-Pierre Wintenberger, of Serre's modularity conjecture in number theory.

Index of Societies, honours, etc.
Welcome page Biographies Index
History Topics Index Famous curves index
Chronology Time lines
Mathematicians of the day Anniversaries for the year
Search Form Birthplace Maps

JOC/EFR March 2015

The URL of this page is: