IMU Nevanlinna Prize

IMU Rolf Nevanlinna Prize

The International Mathematical Union awards the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize once every 4 years at the International Congress of Mathematicians. It is awarded for:-

... outstanding contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences including:

  1. All mathematical aspects of computer science, including complexity theory, logic of programming languages, analysis of algorithms, cryptography, computer vision, pattern recognition, information processing and modelling of intelligence.

  2. Scientific computing and numerical analysis. Computational aspects of optimization and control theory. Computer algebra.

The prize is financed by the University of Helsinki. The recipient must be under 40 years of age.

1982 Robert Tarjan

1986 Leslie Valiant

1990 A A Razborov

1994 Avi Wigderson

1998 Peter W Shor

2002 Madhu Sudan

2006 Jon Kleinberg

2010 Daniel Spielman

2014 Subhash Khot

MacTutor links:

International Mathematical Union

IMU Prizes:

DMV/IMU Gauss Prize
IMU Nevanlinna Prize

Other Web site:

IMU Web site

Index of Societies, honours, etc.
Welcome page Biographies Index
History Topics Index Famous curves index
Chronology Time lines
Mathematicians of the day Anniversaries for the year
Search Form Birthplace Maps

JOC/EFR March 2015

The URL of this page is: